The moment I saw her…

…my heart swelled as did my eyes. I was in love! She was beautiful and I loved her oh so so much. My heart was bursting – I didn’t know you could love someone this much. 

Actually…I have no idea what people mean when they say that.

On April 18, when the OB said, “Baby’s out” and lifted a bluish squirming bundle of arms and legs onto my tummy, I thought, “Oh wow, a baby! My baby! She looks pretty good…her head isn’t squished from the forceps. Her eyes are open and she’s crying already. That’s great!” I looked at the hands and feet to ensure there were 10 fingers and 10 toes. And then I asked if the baby was a boy or girl. A nurse lifted up one leg and confirmed we had a daughter. “Cool,” I thought. And that was that. Daddy got to hold her for the first 20 minutes as I was sewn up. Baby was healthy and I would recover in a few weeks.

One thought on “The moment I saw her…

Leave a Reply

