Nursing top hack

Maternity clothing stores make a killing. And your choices are limited. I never like to buy something I can only use for one season unless I really need it. I only bought 5 pregnancy tops (on sale) for my two pregnancies. Thyme Maternity sells nursing tops for $35+ and I thought I found a deal on Amazon for $18-$24 until I realized I can hack my own using clothes I already have.

If you use the nursing bras that have the front clips, as opposed to the pull-aside kinds, then you take any spaghetti strap tank top, pull it down to your belly without putting your arms through the straps, then loop the straps around the part of the bra that unclips, throw whatever shirt you want on top and Voila! nursing top! You can lift your shirt to feed without exposing your midsection to drafts or stares. And in my case, my tank is now long enough to hide how I still can’t button some of my pre-pregnancy pants, resorting to the elastic band trick or a belt to hold my unzippered pants up.

What other clothing hacks have you tried?

Leave a Reply

