Dang it Graves. Hello again.

I’m almost 10.5 months postpartum, my cycle is back and I thought I’d check on the thyroid since my body is nearing pre-pregnancy normal. Well, the TSH levels tell me I’m hyperthyroid again. D@mn. I’m not feeling symptomatic yet, so perhaps it’s still early stages of relapse. Some symptoms I’d feel when full blown hyperthyroid include:

  • shortness of breath such that singing or conversation leaves me gasping for air
  • fast resting heart rate, above 90 bpm, and I can hear it pulsing in my head all day long
  • muscle weakness in arms and legs
  • rapid weight loss, like 14 lbs in a couple weeks
  • incredible hunger towards meal/snack times and a voracious appetite (I can out eat my husband)
  • trembling hands
  • insomnia

I still feel strongly about trying to manage this as naturally as possible (read: No radioactive iodine to permanently disable my thyroid). This hyperthyroid condition is a symptom of an autoimmune issue. While some treatment to manage the symptom may be necessary, the main focus is supporting and improving my immune system. When I had relapsed after having Nessness, my naturopath advised three main things to do to best support my immune system:

  1. Avoid dairy and wheat products (in addition to just eating less processed foods). These two things probably cause the most immune/inflammatory issues for most. While I don’t have anything that western medicine calls allergies, or even intolerance, to either of them, I know I develop dry itchy patches on my body when I start to regularly eat dairy (namely cheese and ice cream in my case).
  2. Sleep before 11pm and get at least 8 hours of sleep. Why the timing is important is because the body naturally starts to detox the liver from 11pm to 3am, so for immune support, my body best be resting and allowing this detoxification to happen. I count myself blessed that I can get 8hrs of sleep usually, but getting those hours starting at 11pm is HARD. As I type it’s already 1am.
  3. Exercise daily. For it to count I need elevated heart rate and be starting to break a sweat. Vacuuming or mopping will almost do this for me. This is probably the hardest item for me because I’m not naturally active and it’s hard enough to get downtime much less find time (and energy) to exert myself on purpose. This is important however because physical exertion gives stress a way out of the body.

I bet anyone who does these three things regularly will enjoy improved health. But it’s. So. Hard. To. Do. But I will try. And I will try hard before losing an organ (to RAI). I appreciate all prayers and positive thoughts! Thanks Friends.

Leave a Reply

